Who Am I? What Do I Want To Do?

Standard

I’ve just started this shiny new blog, and now a question faces me. One that it is imperative to answer to continue with creating my blog:

Who Am I?

Sometimes that can be a pretty hard question to answer. Now, in the literal sense, the question “Who am I?” Is pretty simple. I am Faith Thompson, homeschooled teen writer. Easy enough, right? But who am I inside?

When I was seven, I wrote my first “book”. I was SO proud of that 5 pieces of blue construction paper taped together with about 10 sentences and countless stick-figure pictures to illustrate. I titled it “Jermy’s Dog” (about Jeremy’s dog, of course.) and I showed it to everybody, telling them that I was going to get it published like my all of my favorite authors. Of course, I didn’t. But from then on, writing was my favorite thing, next to reading everything I could get my hands on. I wrote my first “real” chapter book at eleven, and I decided that I wanted to be a “professional writer”. Two years ago I discovered poetry. Though I am a far cry from a “real” poet, poetry has been my rock, the thing that I fall back on when I have nowhere else to turn in bad moments. I turn my bad days into beauty through writing, and that’s what I love about it.

So what happens when I try to put my stories, poems, essays, and my general thoughts on paper?

This blog is what happens. This is Faith…Literally. Welcome. Allow me to tell you what you can expect when reading my blog.

I want to accomplish, by writing publicly vs writing in private journal or something, a few things.

I want to:

  • Share my thoughts and writings with the world.
  • Hear other people’s opinions on the things of the world in general.
  • Learn to be a better writer.
  • Make some friends in the writing world.
  • Contribute my own ideas and writing techniques to the writing/blogging community
  • Just plain have fun writing! 😀

I’m really excited to learn everything I can about writing through the Blogging 101 course, and I hope that I can learn even more about writing, you, and me as time wears on and I continue with my blog.

Hopefully,

-Faith

2 responses »

  1. Amazing intro. So simple and interesting. I really have a short attention span, still I read it completely. You are doing great. Looking forward for more.
    NB : Please do mention my name once you do the interview after publishing your great books 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

